NIEP operates in the Vrancea epicentral a 2.5 km aperture array consisting of (Figure 3) 7 seismic sites (PLOR): PLOR1, PLOR2, PLOR3, PLOR4, PLOR5, PLOR6, PLOR7, 7 infrasound elements (IPLOR): IPL2,IPL3, IPL4, IPH4, IPH5, IPH6, IPH7 equipped with Chaparral Model 25 sensors. Collected data are continuously recorded and real-time transmitted to the Romanian National Data Centre (Bucharest)

    Main applications:
  • monitoring of the local and regional events
  • acoustic measurement - detection of the infrasound events: explosions, mine and quarry blasts, earthquakes, aircraft detection etc.

Responsive image Fig. 1 Infrasound network operated by the National Institute for Earth Physics.